Eagles Coach Andy Reid Has No Intention Of Taking A Year Off From NFL

Discussion in 'Philadelphia Eagles' started by Sweets, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Sweets

Sweets All-Pro

All signs point to Eagles owner Jeffrey Lurie firing Andy Reid at the end of this season but if it happens Reid still wants to coach and doesn't want to take any time off, Michael Silver of Yahoo Sports.

"That's not where I'm at," he said Tuesday when asked about taking time off as he left the practice field following a midday walk through in preparation of Thursday night's game against the Cincinnati Bengals. "No. Listen, I'm a coach. I don't hide that from anybody. This is what I do. And I enjoy doing it. I love every day of it. I sure like winning more than losing, but I also am very privileged to be a coach in the National Football League."

So, if Lurie decides to move on, Reid will be eager to move quickly, ideally to the next head-coaching opportunity that awaits him. Though coaches like Mike Shanahan and Jeff Fisher have seemed to enhance their marketability after taking a year off and have come back recharged and with control of their respective front-office destinies, Reid expresses no desire for rest.

"No, I've got the energy," he said. "The energy is there. Listen, you'd have to talk to people around me. I'm not gonna sit here and … you know how I am. I keep my energy level up. I enjoy what I'm doing."

Some sources familiar with the Eagles' organizational mindset believe it's possible that Lurie, despite his preseason decree that Reid would have to improve on last year's 8-8 record to receive a contract extension, could relent and decide to retain Reid, particularly given the potential flashed by Foles since the rookie replaced the injured Michael Vick last month.