2008 National League Gold Glove Winners Announced

Discussion in 'Baseball Talk' started by 86WARD, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. 86WARD

    86WARD -

    NL Gold Glove list includes pitcher Greg Maddux of the Los Angeles Dodgers, catcher Yadier Molina of the Cardinals, first baseman Adrian Gonzalez of the Padres, second baseman Brandon Phillips of the Reds, shortstop Jimmy Rollins of the Phillies, third baseman David Wright of the Mets, outfielder Nate McLouth of the Pirates, outfielder Carlos Beltran of the Mets and outfielder Shane Victorino of the Phillies. Besides Maddux, the repeat winners were Rollins, Wright and Beltran.

    • P, Greg Maddux, LAD
    • C, Yadier Molina, STL
    • 1B, Adrian Gonzalez, SD
    • 2B, Brandon Phillips, CIN
    • 3B, David Wright, NYM
    • SS, Jimmy Rollins, PHI
    • OF, Carlos Beltran, NYM
    • OF, Nate McLouth, PIT
    • OF, Shane Victorino, PHI
    Source: MLB.com
  2. themush

    themush iDIOT sAVANT

    Maddux has 18 of these things!

    Should that go in the same catagory as Ripken's streak or Cy Young's wins, in terms of something that will never be matched?
  3. Mike

    Mike Want some Cheetos?

    congrats guys
  4. TJ

    TJ Dez Caught It

    Yay for Adrian Gonzalez!! Tijuana FTW :icon_cheesygrin:
  5. burnout2oo7

    burnout2oo7 I Am Dawk's Broken Heart

    Should have been Pujols, but good for him. :icon_mrgreen:

    David Wright. :icon_rolleyes: The next Derek Jeter when it comes to these things. Make a few diving plays as a good hitter and media darling and you'll be a perennial winner. Chipper Jones (though he missed some time), Zimmerman (also missed some time), and Glaus all deserved it more than Wright.

    I'm not sure what to say about McClouth. It's nice to see new people win, but are they pulling names out of a hat?
  6. Roy31

    Roy31 Hall Of Famer

    Brandon Phillips is awesome.