2008 American League Gold Glove Winners Announced

Discussion in 'Baseball Talk' started by Roy31, Nov 6, 2008.

  1. Roy31

    Roy31 Hall Of Famer

    P, Mike Mussina, NYY
    C, Joe Mauer, MIN
    1B, Carlos Pena, TB
    2B, Dustin Pedroia, BOS
    3B, Adrian Beltre, SEA
    SS, Michael Young, TEX
    OF, Torii Hunter, LAA
    OF, Grady Sizemore, CLE
    OF, Ichiro Suzuki, SEA

    Source: MLB.com
  2. afjay

    afjay Click. Clack.

    Go Dustin!
  3. TJ

    TJ Dez Caught It

    Two Mariners!!!! At least we won something :icon_confused:
  4. burnout2oo7

    burnout2oo7 I Am Dawk's Broken Heart

    Carlos Gomez was robbed. And if Mark Ellis played more games, he would have easily won second base. If there's any second baseman in the majors who is better than Utley defensively, it is him.

    Also, I love Michael Young, but it has to be a pretty weak year for AL shortstops when he wins a Gold Glove and it's a solid choice.
  5. Mike

    Mike Want some Cheetos?

  6. themush

    themush iDIOT sAVANT

    Why did Evan Longoria get left off???? That kid was a stud this year....
  7. Roy31

    Roy31 Hall Of Famer

    Yeah your right about Young Burnout... Its nice to see him earn an award for his hard work, but to be honest his D isn't totally up to par and worthy of a gold glove.
  8. mike oxlong

    mike oxlong The Voice Of Reason

    games played is meaningless, palmeiro played 28 games at first in 1999 and won the award, he was also named DH of the year that year. I now realize that gold glove is a farce.