A Look At The Patriots Draft Over The Past Decade

Discussion in 'NFL Draft Discussion' started by hammertime, Apr 12, 2010.

1. hammertime

hammertime Rookie

Hi guys! I'm a new poster here (I frequent another message board and happened to find this one when I was googling when draft credentials might be coming out since I applied) and was so impressed by the graphical prowess and the seemingly friendly environment that I decided to join!

Anyway, I'm an aspiring journalist (or sports management person possibly) who is currently a college freshman and I just finished a double blog-post on the Patriots past draft trends. I thought that you might like reading it, so enjoy! If you like it, you should definitely keep posted for some of my other stuff.

Some people see the NFL Draft as a totally random phenomenon, an event that is almost impossible to predict. When it comes to the Patriots, many people think that it is even harder to gain any insight into their draft musings given the team's reputation for secrecy and covertness.

I was recently approached by a poster in a football forum that I frequent with this question; why do we bother constructing mock drafts for the Patriots when, usually, they'll end up picking someone who is seemingly a completely random player that no one has ever heard of? I mean, who would have thought that Sebsatian Vollmer would be a second round pick? Logan Mankins at 32? Ellis Hobbs in the early third round when there was a LOT more value available with the pick? Over the years, the Patriots have made some, frankly, bewildering selections with their draft picks that could lead some to believe that they cannot be figured out by outsiders.

So, why do we make mock drafts and try to project what might happen in the offseason if it seems like an impossible dream? Well, for me, the answer is quite simple.

It is NOT an impossible dream.