Ajax Wins 32nd Dutch League Title

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Sports' started by TheDuke, May 5, 2013.

  1. TheDuke

    TheDuke Breast Man

    AMSTERDAM -- Ajax won its third straight Dutch league championship in style Sunday, trouncing Willem II Tilburg 5-0 on goals from five different players. It is Ajax's 32nd Eredivisie title and guarantees the Amsterdam club a spot in the Champions League next season. Kolbeinn Sigthorsson headed in the first goal in the 12th minute, and when Christian Eriksen scored the second before halftime, fans began to celebrate in the stands, singing "stand for the champion." The onslaught continued in the second half, with goals from Viktor Fischer, captain Siem de Jong and Danny Hoesen to finish the rout. "We felt the pressure of the championship today, we played very nervously in the beginning," De Jong said. "I'm glad we finished the game the way we did."