GIF Weekend Primer - Week 1

Discussion in 'NFL Writer's Block' started by Steve12, Sep 7, 2013.

1. Steve12

Steve12 The night is dark and full of terrors

Every Saturday I will be posting a Weekend Primer. Now that the regular season has started, it will be a breakdown of the top games of the weekend. It’s all based solely on my opinions and knowledge (or lack thereof.) I don’t have any insider information, and I’m not an expert. But hopefully you guys find it fun to read, and hopefully it elicits some debate and conversation. If anyone has a game they really want to be included in a future Weekend Primer, feel free to PM me and let me know.

So there’s the legal mumbo jumbo, now let’s get to what I feel are the most interesting games this week.

Huge thanks to 86ward for the sweet logo

[​IMG]

The NFL regular season is finally upon us. I don’t know about you guys, but this offseason seemed particularly long and tough to get through. But now none of that matters. It’s time to look forward to some real football. Unfortunately there’s no new storylines to follow yet since only one game has been played. So it’s basically all just the same preseason BS.

Falcons vs. Saints

[ame=http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-game-previews/0ap2000000238736/Preview-Atlanta-Falcons-vs-New-Orleans-Saints]Preview: Atlanta Falcons vs. New Orleans Saints - NFL Videos[/ame]

This is the most interesting division matchup for me this week. I’m really high on the Saints. I think the return of Sean Payton will really energize this team. A lot like the whole Chuckstrong did for the Colts last year. And unlike almost everyone else, I don’t have the Falcons making the playoffs. Even I’m surprised by that, but that’s how my Predictions turned out. The Falcons are +3 underdogs, which is surprising to me. I’m sure a lot of people are jumping all over that, and I can’t blame them. But I think the Saints make a statement in this game. Especially with that crowd behind them.
    Saints – 35